100-questions-and-answers-about-ovarian-cancer

Below is a list of topics covered in this book, available at the Don and Cathy Jacobs Health Education Center at the University of Kentucky.

Introduction

Preface

Part 1: The Basics

Where are my ovaries? What do they do?

What does it mean to have cancer?

What is a cyst? Is it related to ovarian cancer? How do a complex ovarian cyst and a simple cyst differ?

Part 2: Risk factors, diagnosis and staging of ovarian cancer

What does it mean to have ovarian cancer?

What are the risk factors for ovarian cancer?

Is hormone replacement therapy associated with ovarian cancer?

Part 3: Treatment of Ovarian Cancer

How do I decide where to be treated?

Who’s involved in my treatment?

Who should do my surgery?

Part 4: Coping with treatment-related side effects

Should I take special precautions while on chemotherapy?

What kind of diet should I follow while on treatment? What about after treatment?

Will I be able to tolerate treatment if I am older?

Part 5: Symptom Management

How does ovarian cancer cause abdominal pain?

What can I do for constipation?

How do I manage pain?

Part 6: Relapse

How can my ovarian cancer come back if my ovaries have been removed?

What happens if the cancer comes back?

How do you make a diagnosis of recurrence?

Part 7: If treatment fails

How do I know when it’s time to stop treatment?

What is a PEG tube? Do I need one?

Does intravenous feeding play a role?

Part 8: Prevention, Screening and Advocacy

Can I protect myself from getting ovarian cancer?

Can I get ovarian cancer if I’ve had my ovaries removed?

Will fertility drugs increase my risk of ovarian cancer?

Additional resources

Glossary

Index

 

 

Leave a Reply

